An Open Letter to My Second Love That Was All of My Firsts

My second love came unexpectedly, in a particularly compromising situation. I was on a date with one of her best friends, and she was my friend’s date. There was an instantaneous feeling of warmth that submerged from within my core when I saw the radiant gleam of her smile, when I heard the sound of her laugh. That was over two years ago, and although we are no longer together, my feelings have remained the same.

She was the one who tore me open and exposed the potential that I had been refusing to take notice of since my first love left me. She was the one who showed me that intimacy is more than sex, it is the transformation of two bodies into one soul, and it is something that is truly sacred. She was the one who let me know that my identity was finally recognized and validated by the person that I loved. She was the one who taught me the true meaning behind the word sacrifice, and furthermore, behind unconditional love. She did not judge me for my mental illnesses, my flaws, or my opinions that differed from her own. She loved me for all that I was, which is more than I can say for any of my past relationships. She helped me emotionally and physically transform into the man that I am today. For that above all else, I am eternally grateful for her presence in my life.

We began as friends and eventually became lovers, in the way I believe the most successful relationships evolve. We have changed a drastic amount over the past two years of knowing one another, but the love we have for each other has continued to grow. I do not doubt that it will continue to grow and flourish, just as a rose does when it is tenderly loved and meticulously cared for. She is the reason I believe in the concept of having a soulmate, even if it means spending time apart in order to let each other develop into the best versions of ourselves. At the end of the day, I am confident that we will inevitably find our way back to each other, as the ocean and the shore do.

Love is a sacrifice. Sometimes, you have to set your love free in order to see the bigger picture clearly. Even if it breaks your heart in the process, even if it hurts. What is meant to be, will be. Time and patience are two factors I have never been good at understanding, but I am slowly learning to.

Thank you.

I love you.

I’ll be seeing you.

-Your second love

 

 

 

Leave a comment